Vegan Guides

Are Bagels Vegan: The Answers

Are Bagels Vegan – the answers you never thought you needed!
I don’t think there is anyone on this planet that doesn’t like a good bagel. A bagel with a thick layer of cream cheese…mmm!
But are bagels vegan?

Let’s find out!

Are Bagels Vegan: The Answers

Are Bagels Vegan Friendly?

Most bagels are vegan! However, some bagels you buy, especially from the stores may contain either milk or egg. The egg is typically added in the form of an egg wash.
Even some bakeries will follow this because what it does, it creates this beautiful golden top of the bagels. So many bakeries go for the egg-wash route as well.

How Are Bagels Made?

Traditionally, bagels are made using the following ingredients:

  • Bread Flour
  • Yeast
  • Salt
  • Sugar
  • Water

That’s it! The dough is made out of these ingredients, then there are several stages that take place.

  • Proofing
  • Rolling/Shaping
  • Proofing Again
  • Poach In Water
  • Bake!

The process may sound pretty simple – but actually, a lot of time goes into it. I suppose that is why they are so darn good!

Vegan Bagel Brands

Are Bagels Vegan: The Answers

There are certain bagels out there that are 100% vegan, so watch out for these:

  • New York Bakery Co (plain)
  • Fitzgeralds
  • Schär Gluten-Free Cinnamon Raisin Bagels
  • BFree Foods BFree Bagels

And many more!
The secret is to look for the ingredients on every single bagel you pick. If you are buying a bagel from a bakery, make sure you ask a member of staff there whether they have vegan bagels.
When you look at the ingredients, if they contain the following, they are not vegan:

  • honey
  • eggs (typically in the form of egg wash)
  • Dairy (often in the form of milk)
  • mono- and diglycerides (sometimes It can be vegan)
  • non-organic sugar (sometimes it can be vegan)
  • natural flavor (sometimes it can vegan)
  • enzymes (sometimes it can be vegan)

For all these ingredients that can sometimes be vegan, it’s important that you do a thorough inspection of the ingredients and read the bold allergen info.
It’s up to you if you are happy to take the risk if, for example, the only red flag is enzymes.

How To Make Your Own Vegan Bagels

Look, it’s no secret that homemade is best. The good thing about bagels is, that once they are baked and cooled, you can freeze them, and you can take them out whenever you need them on the stop.
They can last in the freezer for up to 2 months! So, you will just need to go through the trouble of making them, then you can enjoy them!

Here’s how to make vegan bagels:

Best-Ever Vegan Sesame Bagels

Best-Ever Vegan Sesame Bagels

Elena
An Easy Homemade Bagels recipe using just a few staple ingredients! The buns are Vegan, Dairy-Free, and Egg-Free.
Prep Time 1 hr 5 mins
Cook Time 20 mins
Total Time 1 hr 25 mins
Course Breakfast
Cuisine American
Servings 10
Calories 251 kcal

Ingredients
  

  • 666 g/5 1/3 cups of bread flour
  • 420 ml/1.7 cups of tepid water body temperature, 30C minimum, 34C max
  • 1 tablespoon of dry active yeast
  • 1 tablespoon of table salt
  • 1 tablespoon of dark brown sugar/light brown sugar/coconut sugar
  • 1 tablespoon of soda bicarbonate
  • 1 tablespoon of black treacle/molasses/ pomegranate molasses optional

Instructions
 

  • Using a kitchen aid add the salt first, then add the flour and the rest of the ingredients. Using the hook, mix on low speed for about 10 minutes.( if using a bowl, do the same way, but work mix it with your hands it until it forms a dough, and knead for about 10 minutes)
  • Transfer the dough onto a deep bowl cover with a tea towel, and leave in a warm place to prove for about 30 minutes.
  • Meanwhile bring a deep pot of water to the boil.
  • Line baking trays with parchment paper and lightly oil them, or flour them for an oil-free version.
  • Flour a working surface and divide the dough onto 10 balls (100g/1/3cup each.)
  • Then flatten each ball then fold in the sides and pinch them. Turn around and roll them using the palm of your hand ( see pictures ) It should form a smooth round ball.
  • Place the shaped balls onto the oiled/floured trays. Using your finger from underneath make a hole in the middle and stretching it slightly to extend the hole ( the dough will be quite flexible)
  • Cover with a tea towel and prove again for 15 minutes.
  • Preheat oven to 375F/200C.
  • Add the bicarb and treacle to the boiling water.
  • Then carefully drop 2-3 of the risen bagel rings depending on how wide your pan is, just try not to crowd the pot.
  • Boil each side for 30 seconds. then place the blanched bagels back to the baking tray. Top them with sesame seeds.
  • Put the trays with bagels in the oven and bake for 20 minutes. Try not to open the oven during these 20 minutes.
  • Enjoy the bagel hot or cold with any fillings you like.

Video

Notes

Store these amazing homemade bagels wrapped in cling-film or put in an air-tight container and consume within 3 days.
They freeze great too!

Nutrition

Calories: 251kcal
Keyword bagel, baked, breakfast, lunch, vegan
Tried this recipe?Let us know how it was!

What Do Vegans Put On Bagels?

Are Bagels Vegan: The Answers

Literally, anything you like. From vegan cream cheese with vegan salmon to nut butter and jelly.
Personally, I love putting hummus on mine, with some crumbled vegan feta!

But here is a quick list:

  • Vegan Cream Cheese
  • Nut Butters
  • Jelly (Jam)
  • Hummus
  • Vegan Butter
  • Lettuce & Vegan Ham
  • Vegan Salmon (made from carrot)

FAQs:

1. Do Bagels Contain Egg?

Some bagels can contain egg, but not all of them do.

2. Are McDonald’s Bagels Vegan?

Apparently, they are! But obviously, only if they are plain, if they have an egg or sausage with the bagel, then it wouldn’t be vegan.

3. Are Starbucks Bagels Vegan

So, the plain, cinnamon raisin and Everything Bagels at Starbucks are vegan.

4. Are Dunking Donut Bagels Vegan

They have several vegan-friendly bagels at Dunkin Donuts. But make sure you ask the member of staff to ensure that they give you a vegan-friendly one.

5. Are Costco Bagels Vegan

Costco does have vegan-friendly bagels, but make sure you check the ingredients of the packaging and ensure that what you are buying is actually vegan-friendly.

Summary: There Are Vegan Bagels!

bagels with jam

If bagels are made traditionally, then they would be vegan. And a lot of bagels are made vegan. The most important thing you need to do, though, is read the ingredients of the bagel packaging, or if shopping from a bakery, speak to a member of staff.

SUBSCRIBE!
We promise not to spam you and only send you beautiful, tailored recipes, healthy tips and guides.
We respect your privacy.

I am the owner of Vegevega, and I am passionate about everything wellness and veganism. I have been in the wellness and veganism space for over 4 years now. It's my purpose to provide helpful guides to all my readers.

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Recipe Rating