Vegan Guides

Are Frosted Flakes Vegan: A Quick Simple Guide

Are Frosted Flakes Vegan: A Quick Simple Guide

Are Frosted Flakes Vegan: A Quick Simple Guide. Cereal is a super quick ready to go breakfast, no wonder why you might be wondering are frosted flakes vegan.
I am not a huge cereal eater myself, but they do come in handy when I am in a rush in the morning, and only got 5 minutes to throw something quickly.

Are Frosted Flakes Vegan?

That depends. There are some types in the UK that are vegan, but for example, there is one type in Target in the US that isn’t vegan, because it contains Vitamin D3. Hold on, is vitamin d3 vegan?

Often, it isn’t – the reason is,  vitamin D3 can be derived from an animal source (such as sheep’s wool) or lichen (a vegan-friendly source) – so, it really is unknown at the minute, whether they used vitamin D3 from animals, or from lichen. But, I would right be safe than sorry, and just not buy that type from Target. Psst! Check out this guide for more information on what is and isn’t vegan.

However, there is another type in Target, organic frosted flakes, that are actually completely vegan, so watch out for these!

There is more good news though, there is a type on Amazon, that is actually completely vegan. So, overall, it’s good news, you can definitely get yourself vegan frosted flakes, you will just need to be careful though, and always read the ingredients of the packet.

Are Frosted Flakes Gluten-Free?

Typically, yes, they are made with corn, but you have to be careful, because some types may use white flour, or barley, as such, so that won’t make it gluten-free. As I mentioned above, always read the ingredients on the list.

What Are Frosted Flakes, Anyway?

Frosted flake is a type of cereal, that consists of sugar-coated corn flakes. It originated from the USA, and it used to actually be called Sugar Frosted Flakes, but that was changed in 1983.
Frosted flakes were the second best-selling cereal in the US in 2017, so you can imagine, how popular this cereal is.
Are Frosted Flakes Vegan: A Quick Simple Guide

What Are Frosted Flakes Made Of?

Traditionally, frosted flakes are made with corn, cane sugar, salt. That’s it. However, these days, you will notice a lot more ingredients going in, like fortified vitamins, preservatives, coloring and so much more.

Summary:

So, that was my ‘Are Frosted Flakes Vegan: A Quick Simple Guide’ done and dusted.
I hope you found it helpful, and I hope you liked the good news.

If you are a cereal lover, but you are in a need of a vegan type of cereal, you can certainly get yourself some frosted flakes, just make sure you read the ingredients first and avoid added vitamin D3 whenever you can (unless it’s specified that it’s vegan)

Anyway, if you know of any other brands or types of vegan frosted flakes, give me a shout! Feel free to drop a comment below, or message me directly on my socials:
Instagram, Pinterest, YouTube, or Facebook!

SUBSCRIBE!
We promise not to spam you and only send you beautiful, tailored recipes, healthy tips and guides.
We respect your privacy.

I am the owner of Vegevega, and I am passionate about everything wellness and veganism. I have been in the wellness and veganism space for over 4 years now. It's my purpose to provide helpful guides to all my readers.

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply