Vegan Guides

Are Fruit Loops Vegan: A Quick Guide

Are Fruit Loops Vegan: A Quick Guide

Are Fruit Loops Vegan: A Quick Guide. Being a new vegan isn’t easy, you have so many questions, and you are not exactly sure what you can and cannot eat.
Perhaps today, what brought you here now, is because you wanna find out are fruit loops vegan? – Well, you have come to the right place, because I am going to give you the answer shortly.
But first, let’s first find out…

What Are Fruit Loops?

Fruit Loops or ‘Froot Loops’ is a fruit-flavored cereal produced by Kellogg’s and sold in many countries. The cereal pieces are ring-shaped and come in a variety of bright colors and a blend of fruit flavors (hence “froot”, a cacography of fruit).

What flavor are fruit loops? – Just like many other big brands – there are many different flavors of fruit loops.
What are fruit loops made of? – It really depends on what type of fruit loops you are buying, but generally, here’s what they have: They are made with cornflour, regular white flour, sugar, oil, oats, coloring, preservatives, fructose syrup, fruit & vegetable concentrates, and gelatine. Some brands also have added minerals and vitamins to them.
What color are fruit loops? – They vary in color – between yellow, red, orange, green, purple…etc

Are Fruit Loops Vegan?
Are Fruit Loops Vegan: A Quick Guide

Yes and no. It will very much depend on the type you are buying, and where you are buying it. For example, this one from Target – Froot Loops Breakfast Cereal – 19.4oz – Kellogg’s, might be vegan! However, there is a catch, it contains Vitamin D3, Vitamin D2 is always suitable for vegans, but vitamin D3 can be derived from an animal source (such as sheep’s wool) or lichen (a vegan-friendly source) – so, it really is unknown at the minute, whether they used vitamin D3 from animals, or from lichen. Check out this guide for more information on what is and isn’t vegan.

Same for this brand from Target – Trix Classic Strawberry Cereal Family Size – 16.1oz – General Mills, looks legit in the ingredients, but again, it has vitamin D3.
However, there is a type in the UK – Kellogg’s Unicorn Froot Loops Cereal – that is actually completely vegan! It has no added vitamins to it, no gelatine or anything like that.

So, my advice to you would be, always read the ingredients carefully. The ingredients of anything will tell you if something is vegan or not. However, as mentioned above, be careful with vitamin D3.

So, Why Fruit Loops Are Not Vegan?

Here are the main reasons:
Some of them have vitamin D3, which is often made from animals.
Some of them have gelatine, which is made from animal bones.

The good news is, there is hope, and there is a chance that you can come across a vegan one, which is great. You may end up with a packet of fruit loops and enjoy them as a vegan. Just read the ingredients, always!

Summary:

Let’s wrap up this Are Fruit Loops Vegan – A Quick Guide.
So, we found that fruit loops can be vegan if we read the ingredients and find the right type. It would be great if perhaps they disclose what type of vitamin D3 they used. So, for these specific types with added vitamin D3, there is hope that they also end up being vegan too!

Anyway, I hope you found this quick guide helpful today!

SUBSCRIBE!
We promise not to spam you and only send you beautiful, tailored recipes, healthy tips and guides.
We respect your privacy.

I am the owner of Vegevega, and I am passionate about everything wellness and veganism. I have been in the wellness and veganism space for over 4 years now. It's my purpose to provide helpful guides to all my readers.

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply