Vegan Guides

Are Gushers Vegan 2023

Are Gushers Vegan 2022

Are gushers vegan in 2022 you may wonder, and this is exactly what I am going to answer in this short and sweet article.

Who doesn’t like gushers? Come on – they are amazing – I mean you are here today wondering whether “are fruit gushers vegan” so I guess you like fruit gushers just as much as me.

So, so without further ado, let’s find out whether gushers are vegan or not.

Are Gushers Vegan?

The majority of gushers are vegan friendly, yes. General Mills is the company that owns gushers, and they recently published the ingredients of gushers, and after a thorough inspection of all ingredients, I can safely say that they are suitable for a vegan diet, Strawberry Splash particularly, which is great news.

However, not all of them are vegan. For example, this one – “Gushers, Tropical Flavors Fruit Snacks” is not vegan, due to it containing Blue 1 – a type of coloring that isn’t vegan friendly.

Are Gushers Vegan 2022

The Strawberry Splash is vegan though. Let’s take a look at the ingredients:

  • Sugar
  • Dried Corn Syrup
  • Corn Syrup
  • Fructose
  • Grape Juice
  • Maltodextrin
  • Cottonseed Oil
  • Carrageenan
  • Citric Acid
  • Glycerin
  • Xanthan Gum
  • Red 40
  • Agar-Agar
  • Monoglycerides
  • Sodium Citrate
  • Malic Acid
  • Ascorbic Acid
  • Natural Flavor
  • Potassium Citrate

Now, I would like to quickly point out, that a lot of colors are not vegan friendly, I am talking about Red 40. Now, luckily, Red 40 is vegan-friendly, but typically, be wary of these, as some of them are definitely not vegan, like Blue 1.

Another thing I would like to point out is the presence of Agar-Agar.

Agar-Agar is the vegan-friendly version of gelatine. We all know that regular gelatine isn’t vegan-friendly due to the nature of its creation involving animal bones.

Obviously, looking at these ingredients, gushers are definitely not a healthy snack, but we are not here to judge the snack, we are here to find out “are gushers really vegan” and we got the answer, the answer is yes.


Are Gushers Sour Berry Vegan?

Unfortunately not, they contain Blue 1, a non-vegan food coloring.

Do Gushers Have Gelatin?

Nope, they do not. They contain Agar-Agar, which is a plant-based vegan-friendly thickening agent that performs the same thing gelatine does.

What Is In Glycerin In Gushers?

Glycerin isn’t always vegan. however, as long as it states that it’s made from vegetable glycerin, you are good to go.

Is There Pork In Gushers?

No, there is no pork in gushers (if you are especially referring to gelatine) there is no sign of gelatine or pork in gushers.

Are Gushers Gluten-Free

Yes, gushers are gluten-free snacks, suitable for a gluten-free diet. Nothing in Gusher’s ingredients is suggesting otherwise.

Are Gushers Healthy

Not really, but they do contain Vitamin C, and they are fairly low on calories. However, they are not essential to your diet. You can easily get Vitamin C from elsewhere.
Gushers contain a high amount of sugar, furthermore, they also contain corn syrup which is a known GMO, a highly inflammatory ingredient, and Cottonseed Oil, a highly inflammatory oil.


Great news on most of it, we found that some types of gushers are vegan and that we should watch out for colorings such as Blue 1, and Yellow 5 & 6.
I always say this, but always, always look at the ingredients, and make sure you familiarise yourself with all the possible hidden non-vegan ingredients that may seem vegan, but really, aren’t.

Saying that, make sure you get yourself a packet of vegan-friendly Gushers and enjoy it!

You May Also Like:

1. Are Sour Patch Kids Vegan
2. Are Takis vegan?
3. Are Cheerios Vegan
4. Are Doritos Vegan?

We promise not to spam you and only send you beautiful, tailored recipes, healthy tips and guides.
We respect your privacy.

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply