Recipes/ Vegan Guides

Are Hamburger Buns Vegan: Explained

Life can get so complicated on a vegan diet. While for the most part, bread-based products can be vegan, it is worthwhile being cautious. Bread is not directly animal-based, but it can contain additional ingredients which were at some point animal based during production. 

Vegan Burger Buns Recipe

You can find risky ingredients like dairy, milk, eggs, and sugar, a bun can easily become non-vegan very quickly. 

While sometimes it is easier to just make it from scratch yourself, not all of us have the time to be making fresh burger buns every day. So, it is time you and I take a look at whether hamburger buns are vegan or not.

Are Hamburger Buns Vegan?

Yes and no. At its most basic level, yes hamburger buns are vegan. However, bread can easily contain animal products such as milk, eggs, and dairy which will automatically make it not vegan. It can also contain sugar which is a dodgy area for many vegans thanks to potential bone char. 

So are hamburger buns vegan? Yes, some of them, but not all of them are!

It’s important that you ALWAYS check the ingredients list of the burger buns package before you buy it. Or, if you are eating out, make sure you speak to a member of staff to confirm that the bun they are serving you is vegan-freindly.

What Bread Buns Are Vegan?

Are Hamburger Buns Vegan

If you want some vegan bread buns, you will have some options. There are many companies that pride themselves on making vegan bread buns. Companies like ‘Wonder Bread’, ‘Ball Park’, ‘365’, and ‘Aunt Millies’ all do vegan bread bun options. 

But we will get more into the companies that do this later. 

What Kind Of Hamburger Buns Do Vegans Eat?

The best types of vegan burger buns include brands such as we have mentioned above. These buns will be made without any milk, sugar, eggs, or butter to keep the buns totally vegan!

It is not easy to find everywhere though, as many vegans often find that a huge amount of companies tend to sell normal buns, and some claim that their buns are vegan. It is worth checking to package for ingredients regardless. Especially if sugar is a sketchy ingredient for you. 

Can Vegans Have Buns?

Are Hamburger Buns Vegan

Of course, vegans can have buns! Just not all of them! Typically a vegan can eat any bread that doesn’t contain dairy or eggs. 

Sadly though most rolls, buns, pitas, flatbreads, bagels, sandwich bread and such will fit into this category. However, it really does depend on you, personally. Some vegans will not be so fussy, especially with sugar. 

But for some, sugar is a big issue due to the potential use of bone char, which slims down their options even more!

Is A Brioche Bun Vegan?

Brioche is buttery French bread usually eaten on its own or used in sweet or savory dishes. Brioche is not usually vegan thanks to the butter and of course, how over-laden the dough is with eggs and dairy. 

Let’s not forget how traditional brioche buns are also glazed with egg washes to give them that golden gleaming appearance that they are known for. It also traps in the moisture to make it extra fluffy too. 

But, no, brioche is not technically vegan and while you might find the odd rare vegan version, this is not very common at all! 

Are Most Buns Vegan?

Are Most Buns Vegan?

For the most part, any bread is suitable for vegans, as the main ingredients are flour, yeast, water, and oil. All of which are vegan. 

However, it does depend on the individual manufacturer as some manufacturers will add dairy products to their bread buns. Not all will do this, but the fact that some do does make it worth checking the ingredients before you go buying any! 

Do Burger Buns Have Dairy?

Most burger buns will not contain any dairy products. Think about it. If you are having a burger do you really want the sweet flavor that dairy typically delivers? Hell no! But, some manufacturers will still do it, adding dairy products to burger buns. 

Most buns won’t have this, but this is why it is worth double checking the ingredients list before you buy bread products. 

Does Hamburger Bun Contain Egg?

egg wash

Most hamburger buns won’t contain eggs, but some might. Some may also use egg as a glaze to make the bun shiny and golden. This is a reason to be skeptical of super shiny burger buns. If it’s gleaming and golden, it probably has an egg on it. 

However, most will not.

Where To Buy Vegan Hamburger Buns

So, where should you go to buy vegan hamburger buns? Well, since most buns are vegan, you can get vegan hamburger buns from pretty much anywhere. Just check the ingredients before you buy. 

But, if you want buns specifically labeled as vegan, you do have options!

Your local shop should have vegan-friendly buns, or alternatively, you can always order some online.

Vegan Hamburger Bun Brands

Let’s take a look at a series of hamburger bun brands that outwardly produce vegan buns and are very proud of it! 

  • Dave’s Killer Bread.
  • Wonder Bread.
  • Ball Park. 
  • Arnold. 
  • 365.
  • Rudi’s Bakery.
  • Nature’s Own.
  • Aunt Millie’s. 

The trick with hamburger buns is to always look at the ingredients and check for that satisfying little green ‘v’ on the packaging at the store! 

Vegan Burger Buns Recipe

Sometimes it’s just best to do things yourself. There is nothing better and healthier than making food from scratch yourself.
Also, you cannot beat the beautiful smell coming out of your oven whilst baking some bread.  So, here’s how to make vegan burger buns:

Vegan Burger Buns Recipe

Elena
Indulgent homemade vegan burger buns ready for your burger night in!
Prep Time 20 mins
Cook Time 25 mins
chilling time 1 hr 30 mins
Total Time 2 hrs 15 mins
Course Burgers, Dinner, Main Course
Cuisine American
Servings 9
Calories 233 kcal

Ingredients
  

  • ⅔ cup/160ml warm dairy-free milk 28c minimum, 32c max.
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 2 tsp of dry yeast
  • 4 cups/500g of plain all-purpose flour
  • 1 ½ tsp salt
  • ½ cup/125ml of water
  • ⅓ cup/75g of softened vegan butter
  • 4 tbsp extra dairy free milk
  • 1/4 tsp of turmeric

Instructions
 

  • Make sure the milk is warmed to the specifiled degrees. After that,pour it into a small bowl. Add the sugar and the yeast to the milk and stir to dissolve.
  • Set aside for about 5 minutes until the mixture starts to foam this indicates that the yeast is activated.
  • In a big bowl, mix together the flour and salt.
  • Form a well in the middle and pour in the yeast mixture and water.
  • Add the vegan butter pieces, and mix with a a spoon or your hands until it comes together.
  • Transfer everything onto a lightly dusted with flour work surface and knead it with your hands for about 5-8 minutes until a smooth dough forms.
  • After that, form the dough into a ball, place in an oiled bowl. Cover with a damp towel and let it rise in a warm place for about 45-60 minutes, or until the dough has doubled in size.
  • Once the dough is rested and risen, divide the dough into 9 pieces (roughly 100g each). Form each piece into a bun and place them on a baking tray lined with parchment paper.
  • Make sure you leave enough space between each bun. Cover with a damp towel and allow the buns to rise for another 20-30 minutes.
  • After about 15-20 minutes of proofing time, preheat the oven to 356°F (180°C) (so it’ll be hot once the buns are done resting and rising).
  • Lightly brush your buns with dairy-free milk mixed with a pinch of turmeric (this will create a shiny golden color) and bake for about 25-30 minutes.
  • Once baked, transfer them onto a wire rack and let them cool.

Video

Notes

Once the buns are cooled, you can freeze them, or wrap them well, and store them either in the fridge or in a bread bin. Consume them within 3 days.

Nutrition

Serving: 1bunSugar: 3.3gFiber: 2.1gCalories: 233kcalFat: 4.4gProtein: 2.2gCarbohydrates: 33.2g
Keyword burger buns, homemade burger buns, vegan burger buns, vegan burgers
Tried this recipe?Let us know how it was!

FAQs:

dough

Want to know more? I’ve got you! 

Are Dave’s Hamburger Buns Vegan?

Dave’s Killer Bread is an epic brand. They sell two varieties of hamburger buns and both are guaranteed as being vegan! 

Are Burger King Buns Vegan?

Love Burger King’s vegan options? Me too. The good news is their buns are also vegan! They are totally dairy, and egg free! So, go enjoy that Burger King meal knowing you can!

Are Wonder Hamburger Buns Vegan?

Sadly Wonder Hamburger Buns are not vegan as they do contain animal-sourced ingredients such as mono-diglycerides and enzymes. It sucks but you still have many options like DKB!

Are Potato Buns Vegan?

With potato buns, you want to look at the brand. A lot of potato buns will be vegan but some won’t, such as Martin’s Famous Potato Bread Rolls and Pepperidge Farm.

Summary:

 

Most bread is vegan, this includes burger buns too. However, as we know, there are different variations and methods of making the same thing.
Some people add dairy to their burger buns, and others add eggs. Some don’t add anything like that at all. So, it’s important that you always read the ingredients of the burger bun packaging, or speak to a member of staff, if you are eating out. 

SUBSCRIBE!
We promise not to spam you and only send you beautiful, tailored recipes, healthy tips and guides.
We respect your privacy.

I am the owner of Vegevega, and I am passionate about everything wellness and veganism. I have been in the wellness and veganism space for over 4 years now. It's my purpose to provide helpful guides to all my readers.

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Recipe Rating