Vegan Guides

Are Krispy Kreme Donuts Vegan: It Depends

Krispy Kreme donuts are the kind of treat it is near impossible to say no to. However, whether they are vegan treat is a different thing. 

As vegans, we are always wondering if something is vegan, looking for vegan donut brands, and wondering if Krispy Kreme dairy free is a thing. 

Well, to save you from doing some frantic googling, let me discuss with you what I found out about Krispy Kreme donuts for vegans! 

Are Krispy Kreme Donuts Vegan: It Depends

Are Krispy Kreme Donuts Vegan In The US

Let’s start with the most obvious thing. Is Krispy Kreme vegan in the US? Sorry, but you won’t be getting any vegan Krispy Kreme anywhere outside of the United Kingdom, and that includes the United States! 

So, if you’re in the US, you won’t be getting any vegan Krispy Kreme. Why? Well, in 2021, Krispy Kreme launched their first-ever vegan donut in the UK. Everywhere else just needs to catch up. 

Do Krispy Kreme Donuts Have Gelatin?

No Krispy Kreme donuts contain gelatin. The only products inside Krispy Kreme donuts that make them not vegan-friendly are milk and eggs. However, in the UK, their vegan donuts omit these ingredients which makes them vegan-friendly. 

However, even with these, you risk cross-contamination. 

Are Original Krispy Kremes Vegan?

Are Krispy Kreme Donuts Vegan: It Depends

Outside of the UK, you currently will not find any Krispy Kreme donuts that are vegan. However, in the UK there is the original glazed donut which is suitable for vegans. It omits the egg and milk products inside the donut and makes them vegan-friendly. 

In the UK, more vegan donuts are now sprouting up from Krispy Kreme. You can even get a vegan dozen which includes 4 different types of donuts for vegans! 

We just need to wait for the rest of Krispy Kreme around the world to catch up! 

Are There Vegan Donuts Krispy Kreme?

The only vegan Krispy Kreme donuts you will find are in the UK. Sadly, the rest of the brand is yet to catch up with its vegan options. 

In the United Kingdom, you can get the vegan selection which includes: Fudge Brownie Bliss, Caramel Iced Rings, Apple Custard Crumble, and Original Glazed donuts which are all vegan. 

Do note that even with these donuts there is a risk of cross-contamination, so depending on how strict your vegan diet is, these donuts may or may not be okay for you.

Why Is Krispy Kreme Not Vegan?

doughnuts

In the rest of the world, outside of the UK, Krispy Kreme is strictly non-vegan. This is because their donuts contain both egg and milk in their ingredients in one form or another. 

Typically, their Original Glazed donut in the rest of the world contains egg yolk and dried milk powder, both of which are aggressively un-vegan. 

Does Krispy Kreme Use Lard?

Some people may think that Krispy Kreme uses lard. They do not. Krispy Kreme does not fry their donuts in any animal fats at all, including lard. The only products in Krispy Kreme donuts that are not vegan-friendly are milk and egg products. 

Lard is not used at any part of the donut-making process at Krispy Kreme! 

Do Krispy Kreme Donuts Contain Eggs?

Are Krispy Kreme Donuts Vegan: It Depends

Krispy Kreme donuts do contain both egg and milk products. However, their vegan line of donuts in the UK is egg and milk free making them suitable for vegans to eat. 

Yet, in Australia and the US, they are yet to keep up with this, so for now, outside of the UK, vegans are unable to enjoy Krispy Kreme donuts due to the inclusion of these animal products. 

Hopefully, America and Australia will soon catch on to the success of vegan donuts in the UK, and vegans will be able to sink their teeth into a Krispy Kreme donut or twelve. 

What Are The Ingredients In Krispy Kreme Donuts?

Let’s break down those donuts and find exactly what goes into the making of them. I will break down the vegan and non vegan Krispy Kreme Donuts:

Vegan Krispy Kreme Donut Ingredients:

Wheat Flour, Calcium Carbonate, Iron, Niacin, Thiamin), Water, Dextrose, Palm Oil, Yeast, Salt, Wheat Gluten, Emulsifier (Mono and Diglycerides of Fatty Acids), Raising Agents (Monocalcium Phosphate, Dicalcium Phosphate), Sugar, Preservative (Calcium Propionate), Stabiliser (Carboxymethyl Cellulose), Firming Agent (Calcium Sulphate), Acidity Regulators (Ammonium Sulphate, Diammonium Phosphate), Flour Treatment Agent (Ascorbic Acid), Anticaking Agent (Tricalcium Phosphate)], Glaze [Sugar, Water, Calcium Sulphate, Agar, Dextrose, Locust Bean Gum, Disodium Phosphate, Flavouring (Vanilla), Salt]

None Vegan Krispy Kreme Donut Ingredients:

Wheat Flour, Calcium Carbonate, Iron, Niacin, Thiamin), Water, Sugar, Palm Oil, Yeast, Salt, Emulsifier (Mono and Diglycerides of Fatty Acids), Raising Agent (Monocalcium Phosphate), Egg Yolk Powder, Skimmed Milk Powder, Preservative (Calcium Propionate), Stabilisers (Carboxymethyl Cellulose, Calcium Sulphate), Acidity Regulators (Ammonium Sulphate, Diammonium Phosphate, Dicalcium Phosphate), Flour Treatment Agent (Ascorbic Acid), Anticaking Agent (Tricalcium Phosphate)], Glaze [Sugar, Water, Flour Treatment Agents (Calcium Sulphate, Disodium Phosphate), Stabilisers (Agar, Locust Bean Gum), Dextrose, Flavouring (Vanilla), Salt]

FAQs:

filled doughnuts

It sucks that Krispy Kreme is yet to extend their vegan donut line outside of the United Kingdom, vegans deserve to enjoy good quality donuts too! But, while we all wait for the rest of the brand to catch on, let’s consider some of the burning questions everyone has about veganism and donuts! 

Are Dunkin’ Glazed Donuts Vegan

Sadly Dunkin’ Donuts is no better than Krispy Kreme. Nothing, and I mean nothing at Dunkin’ Donuts is vegan. All of their donuts, munchkins, muffins, smoothies, and so on are not vegan friendly.

Maybe if Krispy Kreme’s vegan line gets more popular, Dunkin’ Donuts will get the message. Or at least we can all hope! 

Are Krispy Kreme Donuts Vegetarian?

In the United Kingdom, all donuts from Krispy Kreme are suitable for vegetarians. This is also true for the USA as well. All of Krispy Kreme’s donuts are vegetarian, no matter where in the world. Only their vegan line is sold in the UK. 

Are Krispy Kreme Donuts Kosher?

Another great thing about Krispy Kreme is that their donuts are Kosher as well. So, they are both vegetarian and Kosher. They have a mixing plant in NC in which the mix is made and certified as being kosher. 

Additionally, Krispy Kreme also states that they consider their donuts to be suitable for a halal diet too, although they are not certified as being halal like they are kosher. 

Are Krispy Kreme Donuts Fried?

Krispy Kreme donuts are fried in oil, much like all donuts are. Frying them cooks the dough quickly which gives them that to-die-for crispiness, or should I say… Krispiness.

How Much Sugar In A Krispy Kreme Donut. 

Each Krispy Kreme donut contains a good 10 grams of sugar. This is quite high as it takes up a good chunk of your recommended daily sugar intake. This is just the glazed donuts, filled and iced donuts contain even more!

Summary:

There is good news and bad news. The good news is, in the UK there are vegan-friendly Krispy Kreme Donuts. The bad news is though, that vegan-friendly Krispy Kreme Donuts can only be found in the UK.
So, if you are ever in the UK, visiting, or you live there, make sure you grab a vegan Krispy Kreme Donut!

SUBSCRIBE!
We promise not to spam you and only send you beautiful, tailored recipes, healthy tips and guides.
We respect your privacy.

I am the owner of Vegevega, and I am passionate about everything wellness and veganism. I have been in the wellness and veganism space for over 4 years now. It's my purpose to provide helpful guides to all my readers.

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply