Vegan Guides

Are Pringles Vegan? What Pringles Are Vegan

We like to snack. From pringles to takis, we like to satisfy our crunch cravings.

Today, I am looking into one of the most asked-after foods when it comes to asking if things are vegan or not… Pringles. 

Are they? Well, no, but yes. Like many other things out there, there are plenty of varieties that are, but there are also plenty that are not friendly for vegans. 

Rather than just giving you a straight-up, yes or no about every flavor, I will give you all you need to know about some of the most popular Pringles flavors. 

Let’s take a look at the ingredients! 

Are Pringles Vegan?

Pringles Flavor Favorites

There are 14 primary Pringles flavors that sit under the category of ‘favorites’, which means the most popular flavors. 

There are a set of ingredients that make up pretty much all Pringles on a base level: 

Vegetable oil, maltodextrin, cornstarch, dried potatoes, salt, rice flour, degerminated yellow corn flour, mono and diglycerides, and wheat starch. 

These are the base ingredients, and if it stopped here then all Pringles would be vegan. However, each flavor has something different, so let’s look at the flavor’s added ingredients for flavor. 

BBQ: Tomato powder, spice, online powder, sugar, garlic powder, paprika extract color, malted barley flour, whey. NOT VEGAN

Cheddar Cheese: Coconut oil, cheddar cheese, paprika extract color, sugar, buttermilk, blue cheese, whey, butter, turmeric extract color, nonfat milk. NOT VEGAN

Cheddar And Sour Cream: Sodium caseinate, whey, lactose whey, nonfat milk, natural flavors, cultured nonfat milk, blue cheese, reduced lactose whey, onion powder, sour cream. NOT VEGAN.

Jalapeno: Onion powder, autolyzed yeast extract, sugar, citric acid, natural and artificial flavors, garlic powder, tomato powder, whey, torula yeast, spices, and torula yeast. NOT VEGAN.

Honey Mustard: Mustard, garlic powder, honey, turmeric color, natural flavors, citric acid, onion powder, lactose. NOT VEGAN.

Pizza: Whey, cheddar cheese, garlic powder, buttermilk, natural flavors, spices, sugar, citric acid, cream, onion powder, tomato powder, and coconut oil. NOT VEGAN.

Memphis BBQ: Sugar, natural smoke flavor, turmeric color, distilled vinegar, tomato powder, garlic powder, onion powder, paprika extract color, mustard seed, brown sugar, spice, natural and artificial flavors, and dried vinegar. NOT VEGAN.

Salt & Vinegar: Lactose, malic acid, vinegar, turmeric color. NOT VEGAN

Ranch: Buttermilk, sour cream, whey, cultured nonfat milk, garlic powder, coconut oil, spices, natural and artificial flavors, and onion powder. NOT VEGAN.

Sour Cream & Onion: Sour cream, cultured nonfat milk, whey, nonfat milk, buttermilk, cream, coconut oil, sodium caseinate, sugar, onion powder, yeast extract, inverted sugar, and natural flavors. NOT VEGAN.

Original:  N/A VEGAN!

Buffalo Ranch: Whey solids, buttermilk, whey protein concentrate, garlic powder, onion powder, dried yeast, paprika extract color, spice, tomato powder, cayenne pepper sauce, dextrose, coconut oil, vinegar, and onion powder. NOT VEGAN.

Screamin’ Dill Pickle: whey lactose, garlic powder, dill extract, mustard extract, citric acid, natural flavor, dill seed powder, garlic extract, and citric acid. NOT VEGAN.

Extra Hot: Whey, salt, sugar, garlic powder, chili pepper powder, natural and artificial flavors, and onion powder. NOT VEGAN.

Are Pringles Vegan?

Wavy Pringles Flavors

Pringle also has 4 flavors categorized as ‘wavy pringles’. These have a very similar base ingredient made up as normal pringles. They contain: 

Degerminated yellow corn flour, mono and diglycerides, dried potatoes, cornstarch, wheat starch, vegetable oil, rice flour, salt, and maltodextrin. 

Let’s take a look at what extra ingredients are in each wavy pringles flavor.

Classic Salted: N/A. VEGAN.

Wavy Applewood Smoked Cheddar: Lactose, whey, natural flavor, onion powder, garlic extract, dill extract, dill seed powder, garlic powder, mustard extract. NOT VEGAN.

Fire Roasted Jalapeno: Whey protein concentrate, whey, whole milk, cultured buttermilk, buttermilk, cream cheese, nonfat milk, coconut oil, spices, fire roasted jalapeno, dried parsley, onion powder, jalapeno pepper puree, spices, and garlic powder. NOT VEGAN.

Sweet And Tangy BBQ: Whey, onion powder, brown sugar, spices, dried yeast, tomato powder, natural flavors, paprika color, garlic powder, molasses, paprika extract color, garlic powder. NOT VEGAN.

Lighter Side Pringles

Pringles also have a ‘lighter side’ category as well with 3 flavors. These have the standard pringles base makeup: 

Vegetable oil, rice flour, wheat starch, dried potatoes, mono and diglycerides, corn flour, salt, degerminated yellow corn flour, rice flour, and maltodextrin. 

Let’s see what each individual flavor also contains: 

Lightly Salted Original: N/A.  VEGAN!

Reduced Fat Original: N/A. VEGAN

Reduced Fat Sour Cream And Onion: Whey, nonfat milk, cultured nonfat milk, buttermilk, sour cream, cream, onion powder, natural flavors, inverted sugar, yeast extract, coconut oil, citric acid, sugar, and lactic acid. NOT VEGAN.


Are Pringles Vegan? What Pringles Are Vegan

Looking over all these Pringles flavors lets us know that only original, lightly salted original, wavy classic salted, and reduced fat original Pringles flavors are indeed vegan. 

The majority of Pringles contain whey, sadly. So, only really the original or salted pringles are actually vegan. What a shame! 


Are UK Pringles Vegan?

In the UK, only pringles that are vegan are the original pringles. Pringles ingredients often contain whey, which is not vegan, and many flavors will contain dairy of some kind as well. 

The pringles original flavor is the only traditional flavor of pringles that is vegan.

Are Original Pringles Vegan?

Original Pringles are vegan. So, these are a super safe option for you to pick up when you fancy a crunchy potato chip. 

In fact, original Pringles are one of the most popular flavors out there! No wonder why! 

Are Pringles Gluten Free?

Sadly Pringles are not gluten-free, so are not suitable to those who are gluten intolerant.

Are Pringles Lactose-Free?

Many flavors of pringles are lactose-free, but not all. Many flavors, especially cheese-based flavors do contain lactose. 

Are Pringles Egg Free?

Pringles are egg-free, however, they are not lactose-free overall. However, the original Pringles are! 

We promise not to spam you and only send you beautiful, tailored recipes, healthy tips and guides.
We respect your privacy.

You Might Also Like

1 Comment

  • Reply
    10 October 2022 at 18h59

    This was perfect from A to Z! Thank you for the hard work!

  • Leave a Reply