Vegan Guides

Best Vegan Options At Hardee’s Reviewed By a Vegan

Hardee’s is hardly a new name in the fast-food game, they are well known for their ‘Thickburgers’ which they claim to make with pure 100% Black Angus Beef. 

This place has been around since the 1960s and sure it might not be a Wendy’s or a Burger King, but it is unique and has its own unique fanbase that surrounds it. 

However, for us plant-loving people, we do worry about how the chain responds to their consumers’ change in diet, and how so many of us have gone from meat eaters to plant Passionists. 

Is there a menu at this popular burger joint? This is what I went on a journey to find out! 

Best Vegan Options At Hardee's

My Top Vegan Options At Hardees

If you like to keep tabs on what places are vegan and are serving vegan options, then you probably got the news that Hardees added their Beyond Meat items to their menu. 

They introduced Beyond Meat items across the nation after they had a lot of success. This includes the Beyond Sausage Burrito, Beyond Sausage, Egg Biscuit, Beyond Sausage Biscuit, and the Original Beyond Thickburger. 

Out of these, my personal favorite is the Burrito. While the biscuits are delicious and the thick burger is great, the burrito just beats the other options by a mile. But this is not all you can get at Hardee’s There are some side options as well! 

Vegan Options At Hardee’s – Salads & Sides

Fancying something light and thinking maybe a side will do fine? No problem! There are a few sides you can have 

They offer the following sides and salads: 

  • Super Nachos (although you do have to customize them then).
  • Rice Bowl (You will need to customize this order).
  • Taco Salad (You will need to customize this order).
  • Crispy Curls.
  • Natural Cut French Fries.
  • Hash Rounds. 

There are plenty of options for a decent snack. However, I have to admit, in comparison to other restaurants and fast food places, their options are pretty slim.

Best Vegan Options At Hardee's

Hardee’s Vegan Breakfast

Looking for a vegan breakfast? Hardee’s does have vegan options for breakfasts, however, there are not many options. 

But, you could have their hash rounds, however, there are also options such as the Beyond Sausage & Egg Biscuit, or even the Beyond Sausage Biscuit. 

Of course, most of their beverages are vegan as well, however, you will be likely to get plenty of other options in other places. However, if you want a good biscuit or a vegan hash round then this is the place for you. 


While Hardee’s does not have many vegan options for breakfast, and their sides and salad options are pretty slim, they have loads of condiments for you to choose from. 

Know that, however, with all these options, as you could find in any restaurant or fast food establishment, it is not 100% vegan as there is no specified cooking space for vegan options. This means that grills and fryers can be shared with items made with animal produce. 

Condiments, however, are generally bottled and pre-packaged, so are the most vegan items on the menu as there is a much slimmer chance of any cross-contamination. It’s a shame that not everything is as vegan as ketchup! 

Vegan condiments at Hardee’s include: 

  • BBQ Dipping Cup & Packet.
  • Buffalo Dipping Cup.
  • Grape Jelly.
  • Ketchup.
  • Lemon Juice.
  • Mustard.
  • Picante Sauce Packet.
  • Strawberry Jam. 

What Competitors Beat Hardees?

While Hardees is a favorite for many, I have to say I was a little disappointed. While they do have vegan options, with most of their options being sides or breakfast options, there is the warning that they do not necessarily prepare their food in a separate area. 

This means that while some ‘lax vegans might not mind, most of us will find this a big turn-off. 

So, if you are looking for somewhere to get some fast food that is vegan, where should you go?

It turns out that Burger King actually has the most vegan options, especially in comparison to other burger joints. They even beat Mcdonald’s! Sadly Burger King also has the same problem as Hardees with cross-contamination.

Taco Bell also has a lot of vegan options, with most of them containing black beans, making them an epic protein source. If neither of these is to your taste, Chiptole is the other option, simply because you can design your own meals! 

My biggest beef (pun intended) with fast food restaurants is that many do not use a separate station to look at vegan food, much like Hardees. However, with more options at Taco Bell and Chipotle, you can be more cautious as you order. 

So, these two get my vote! 


Are Hardee’s Biscuits Vegan?

Two of Hardees Biscuits are vegan, and their Beyond Biscuits are vegan, however, only ‘Beyond’ biscuit options are vegan at Hardee’s. 

Are Hardee’s Fries Vegan?

Hardee’s fries are vegan, however, they are likely cooked in a fryer that may be shared with non-vegan foods, so cross-contamination is of concern here. 

Are Hardee’s French Toast Sticks Vegan?

No, the French Toast Sticks are not vegan as they contain eggs and are cooked the traditional way.

Does Hardee’s Have A Beyond Burger?

Yes. They offer their Beyond Burger, however, their kitchen is not 100% vegan so exercise caution if you are strict in your veganism.

Are Hardee’s Onion Rings Vegan?

Sadly not. The onion rings at Hardee’s contain milk and milk products, including Whey.

We promise not to spam you and only send you beautiful, tailored recipes, healthy tips and guides.
We respect your privacy.

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply