Vegan Guides

Is Crisco Vegan – The Answer Will Depend

Is Crisco Vegan - The Answer Will Depend

Is Crisco vegan – the answer will depend on a couple of things, and I will break down exactly what it depends on.

Now, as we all know, Crisco is a type of shortening, typically used in the making of pastry goods. But Crisco as a company makes other products such as:

I will answer the question on “is Crisco vegan friendly” individually on each product Crisco has.

So, let’s begin!

Is Crisco Shortening Vegan

Is Crisco Shortening Vegan

So, is Crisco vegetable shortening vegan? The answer will depend on 2 things, first, what type of vegan you are.

Crisco shortening contains palm oil, which we all know is very bad for the environment, so, if you are the type of vegan who is eco-friendly as much as vegan, you may want to give Crisco shortening a miss.

The second reason is an ingredient that Crisco shortening contains, and that is Diglycerides. Diglycerides are typically not vegan, but there are types that are.

Now, Crisco claims that Diglycerides used in the shortening are vegan-friendly, but there is a debate in the vegan community about whether this is true or not.

Personally, as a vegan and as someone who avoids palm oil like the plague, I wouldn’t consume Crisco shortening. But ultimately, the choice is yours.

Is Butter Flavor Crisco Vegan

When I looked at the ingredients, no butter was present, so I am not exactly sure why they called it “butter”. But anyway, we have got the same problem here, that we had with the vegetable shortening, it contains Diglycerides and palm oil.
So for me, this is a product I am not comfortable consuming as a vegan, however, you can decide whether you are comfortable with that.

Is Crisco Unrefined Organic Coconut Oil Vegan

Is Crisco Unrefined Organic Coconut Oil Vegan

Yes, Crisco’s Unrefined Organic Coconut Oil is 100% vegan, and a type of product I would buy as a vegan.

Is Crisco Refined Organic Coconut Oil Vegan

Yes, the refined version of Crisco’s coconut oil is also vegan & gluten-free.

Is Crisco Original Cooking Oil Spray Vegan

Is Crisco oil vegan? Yes! it’s vegan, but it does contain pretty nasty ingredients like canola oil, Dimethyl Silicone, and Propellant, but all these ingredients are vegan-friendly, which makes Crisco’s cooking spray suitable for vegans.

Is Crisco Butter Cooking Spray Vegan

Is Crisco Butter Cooking Spray Vegan

When you look at the name and see “Butter” you immediately assume that it cannot be vegan, but, when I looked at the ingredients, no real butter is used. It’s all cheap oils mixed with coloring.

At the first glance, I assumed it’s straight-up vegan-friendly, but I looked at the type of coloring they are using, which is Beta Carotene (Color) – which can be made vegan, but it can also be derived from animals.

Now, as mentioned above, Crisco claims to be vegan friendly, but there are certainly some ingredients that raise my eyebrows and make me question, whether they have actually used the vegan version of these ingredients.

Personally, just to be on the safe side, I wouldn’t buy Crisco Butter Cooking Spray.

Is Crisco Professional Non-Stick Cooking Spray

Looking at the ingredients, they are almost identical to the ingredients of the original Crisco cooking spray, not sure why they have called this one “professional”

Anyway, it’s vegan though, and gluten-free.

Is Crisco Olive Oil No-Stick Cooking Spray Vegan

This one has to be my favorite one though, they have actually used Extra Virgin Olive oil. And yes, this is 100% vegan-friendly, and something I would be buying.
Olive oil, after all, is vegan-friendly, furthermore, the rest of the ingredients that Crisco has used are also vegan-friendly.

Is Crisco Cooking Oil Vegan

Is Crisco Cooking Oil Vegan

Upon checking all their types, we have got some that are totally vegan friendly, but others have question marks. Let’s take a look:

  • Is Crisco Blends Oil Vegan-Friendly? – Yes, it is 100% vegan-friendly. It only contains 3 ingredients: Canola Oil, Sunflower Oil, and Soybean Oil.
  • Is Crisco Canola Oil and Omega-3 DHA Vegan-Friendly? Now, I am not sure about this one, because it contains this ingredient – Tocopherols, this ingredient can be made vegan and not vegan, so it’s a debate what type Crisco has used.
  • Is Crisco Frying Oil Blend Vegan? – Yes, this one is safe, the ingredients have nothing to suggest otherwise.
  • Is Crisco Peanut Oil Vegan? – Yes, this type of Crisco oil is 100% vegan-friendly and gluten-free.

FAQs:

1. Does Crisco Have Dairy?

Crisco’s products do not contain any form of dairy.

2. Does Crisco Have An Animal Product?

They do not directly contain any animal products within their products, however, certain ingredients that they use could have been derived from animals. These include ingredients such as Tocopherols & Beta Carotene (Color).

3. Is Crisco Canola Oil Vegan?

Yes, Crisco’s Pure Canola Oil is 100% vegan-friendly.

4. What Is a Vegan Substitute For Crisco?

If you are not going to use Crisco’s vegetable shortening due to the reasons I mentioned above, I recommend using Nutiva Organic Shortening – yes, they do use palm oil in the making of the shortening, however, they have explicitly stated the following:

Nutiva stringently adheres to USDA guidelines and partners with small, well-established, organic family farms in Ecuador to source and process responsibly harvested red palm fruit with absolutely no deforestation, habitat destruction, or monocropping for Fair for Life Certified red palm oil.

5. Does Crisco Use Palm Oil?

Yes, they do, not on all their products, but on their vegetable shortening, they do use palm oil.

6. Is Lard Vegan Friendly – Does Crisco Have lard?

No, Lard isn’t vegan-friendly, however, Crisco vegetable shortening or any other products that Crisco has doesn’t contain lard.

Summary:

So, we found that although Crisco claims to be vegan-friendly, there are things that have a lot of reasons to give us any doubt.

However, by the book, Crisco’s vegetable shortening is vegan, due to the company claiming so + the lack of direct animal ingredients.

The issue I have as a vegan and someone who avoids palm oil is that it contains ingredients I am not comfortable consuming, so this is a product I wouldn’t buy or consume. So, really, the choice is yours on whether or not you are happy to consume palm oil.

Anyway, we did find that the majority of other products that Crisco has to offer are suitable for vegans, so Crisco is definitely a company I would be buying products from potentially.

I hope you found this article helpful, and if you have any questions at all, do not hesitate to message me directly, or simply drop a comment below!

SUBSCRIBE!
We promise not to spam you and only send you beautiful, tailored recipes, healthy tips and guides.
We respect your privacy.

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply