Vegan Guides

Is Ramen Vegan: All The Facts

Is Ramen Vegan – all the facts you need to find your answers.
I absolutely love ramen. There is something very comforting about ramen. The hot broth and noodles are soaked in that delicious piping hot broth.

But anyway, is ramen vegan? Let’s find out!

Is Ramen Vegan: All The Facts

Is Ramen Vegan Friendly?

Traditionally – no, ramen isn’t vegan. But traditionally made ramen noodles are vegan!
However, as we all know, in today’s time, there are hundreds of different variations and methods of making a certain thing; a recipe or a technique.
So, not all ramen noodles are vegan-friendly. Bear that in mind.

What About Soups – Are Ramen Soups Vegan?

Is Ramen Vegan: All The Facts

Traditionally, ramen soup isn’t vegan. The process involves cooking meat for a long time, this is what creates this unique broth.
The toppings of the ramen soup are usually non-vegan too. They consist of the following:

  • Sliced Pork
  • Boiled Egg
  • Nori (Seaweed)
  • Mema
  • Scallions

Most ramen traditionally is made with pork. The pork is simmered for many many hours until tender and the broth is rich.
However, different countries and restaurants cook their ramen differently. I like to make my own “cheat ramen” so yeah, you have the option to cook vegan ramen yourself.

Is Chicken Ramen Vegan?

Is Ramen Vegan: All The Facts

If you are a new vegan, then I don’t blame you for asking this question. However, vegans cannot eat chicken or any other meat.
So, the easy straightforward answer is that chicken ramen is definitely not vegan!

What Type Of Ramen Broth Is Vegan?

It really depends on how the chefs or the person cooking the ramen put in the broth.
However, vegan ramen broth is typically made by using vegetable stock, ginger, miso, sometimes lemon grass, mushroom, peppers, scallions, carrots, etc.
If you are eating out, make sure you speak to the members of staff to ensure their ramen broth is vegan.

Vegan Friendly Ramen Noodles:

noodles

There are many, many types of ramen noodles. But which are vegan? Here’s the list:

  • Shin Ramen
  • Oriental Ramen
  • Nongshim Ramen
  • Top Ramen’s Chili Flavored Ramen
  • Jin Ramen
  • Nissin Soy Sauce and Chili
  • Ramen Express
  • Kimchi ramen

Non-Vegan Ramen Noodles:

  • Maruchan Ramen
  • Samyang Ramen
  • Buldak Ramen
  • Tapatio Ramen
  • Panda Signature Ramen

Vegan Ramen Recipe:

I decided to make my own version of vegan ramen out of frustration that every time I went out, I couldn’t find vegan-friendly ramen.
It’s funny, because the moment I developed a vegan ramen recipe, I went out, and found vegan ramen on the menu, haha!
But anyway, here’s the recipe:

Incredibly Easy Healthy Vegan Ramen

Elena
This quick and easy ramen soup recipe is perfect for a quick week day dinner. It's the easiest ramen you will ever make in less than 30 min from start to finish.
Prep Time 10 mins
Cook Time 10 mins
Total Time 20 mins
Course Main Course
Cuisine Japanese
Servings 1
Calories 489 kcal

Ingredients
  

  • For The Noodles Pot:
  • 2 cups/478ml of hot water
  • 1/4 red pepper sliced
  • 1/5 of a broccoli head cut into small florets
  • 1 stock cube of low sodium vegetable stock or homemade veg stock
  • 1 nest of noodles ideally ramen noodles
  • 1 tablespoon of low sodium soy sauce
  • 1/2 tsp of white miso
  • Salt to taste optional
  • For The Crispy Tofu:
  • 3.17 oz/ 60g of tofu cut into cubes
  • 1/4 tsp of paprika
  • 1/4 tsp of garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp of onion powder
  • Pinch of salt

Instructions
 

  • Preheat the oven to 375F/200C.
  • Put the cubed tofu on a baking tray lined with baking paper and add all the spices under the tofu section on the ingredients list. Mix well. Bake in the oven for about 15-20 minutes until crispy.
  • Meanwhile, add all the ingredients for the noodles in a pot and simmer on low heat for about 7-8 minutes, or until the noodles are cooked.
  • Serve into a bowl and add the crispy tofu on top and your desired toppings.
  • I opted for sliced carrots ( for crunch ) sesame seeds, sliced spring onion.

Video

Notes

Store the cooled leftovers in an air-tight container in the fridge for up to 3 days.

Nutrition

Calories: 489kcal
Keyword healthy, oilfree, ramen, tofu, vegan
Tried this recipe?Let us know how it was!

FAQs:

1. Why Does Ramen Have An Egg?

Ramen broth is traditionally served with a boiled egg. As for the ramen noodles, not all ramen noodles are made with eggs.

2. Are Noodles Vegan?

Not all noodles are vegan. For example, egg noodles are certainly not vegan. Make sure you read the ingredients carefully before purchasing any noodles.

3. Is Chicken Ramen Vegetarian

No, chicken ramen is not vegetarian, nor it’s vegan-friendly.

Summary:

ramen with egg

Traditionally made ramen soup (broth) is not vegan. However, you can make your own ramen broth, using vegan-friendly noodles and ingredients.
In terms of packaged ramen noodles, there are vegan-friendly options, so worry not!

SUBSCRIBE!
We promise not to spam you and only send you beautiful, tailored recipes, healthy tips and guides.
We respect your privacy.

I am the owner of Vegevega, and I am passionate about everything wellness and veganism. I have been in the wellness and veganism space for over 4 years now. It's my purpose to provide helpful guides to all my readers.

You Might Also Like

1 Comment

  • Reply
    Bebcho
    15 August 2022 at 15h09

    5 stars
    Thank you so much for this amazing Recipe! Keep the incredible work going!

  • Leave a Reply

    Recipe Rating