Costa Coffee is probably the best-known coffee chain in the United Kingdom, well, that and Starbucks, but Costa is definitely more popular. You can find Costa Coffee almost anywhere, even out in the middle of nowhere.
Their coffee is not half as bad for a chain restaurant, and some people would even choose Costa over Starbucks. What is better is that they have just as many, and sometimes more vegan options than Starbucks.
Their vegan options go beyond just drinks too, and they even offer vegan foods as well. If you are vegan and fancy a trip to Costa, check out everything they have that you can have!
While I love Starbucks, I adore Costa for being so awesomely vegan-friendly.
What Is Vegan At Costa Coffee?
Let’s check out the vegan options available at Costa Coffee. There are a few options, however, not all of them are available at all times of the year.
Remembering that, let’s take a look at some of the newest news for veganism and Costa Coffee.
New News: Veganuary 2023
Costa Coffee celebrates Veganuary in 2023. It offered some new options. Here are some of the newest options that they offer.
- The Vegan Me’tball Wrap: This is served with vegan me’tballs with red pepper, in a marinara sauce, and vegan cheeze with a tomato tortilla wrap.
- The Vegan Saus’ge Breakfast Bap: This is a plant-based sausage with a vegan spread in a tasty white bap.
- The Vegan BBQ Chick’n Panini.
- The Chocolate & caramelised Biscuit Vegan Loaf Cake: This is a tasty chocolate sponge with a topping of frosting, caramelised biscuit paste and caramelised biscuit pieces. Delicious!
Vegan Costa Coffee Options: Coffees:
Costa Coffee makes it so, so simple if you want to order a vegan-friendly coffee at any of their locations. Take a look at all the drinks below, as you can order any of them with no creamer or milk, or even with a plant-based substitute!
- Caramel Cortado.
- Coconut & Vanilla Latte.
- Coconut/ Soy Milk Babyccino.
- Coffee Frostinos (Otherwise known as Frappe).
- Cold Brew Coffee.
- Flat White.
- House Filter Coffee.
- Iced Americano.
- Iced Cortado.
- Iced Latte.
- Mocha. (Risky).
- Spiced Cappucino.
- Traditional Latte.
View this post on Instagram
Remember to order these with plant-based milks, like soy, or coconut, and you can enjoy any of these. Some of these may come naturally with whipped cream, so ensure you request no whipped cream.
Costa also states that the following Frappes are all vegan friendly; The Mint Choc Chip, Belgian Chocolate Strawberry, and Coffee.
Their espresso shots are also vegan as well if you want an extra dose of caffeine.
If you wanted to spice up your coffee in other ways, their syrups are all vegan-friendly, with the exception of the caramel-fudge syrup, and their marshmallow syrup. These are not vegan-safe, but others are.
Their Mochas and hot chocolates are on the vegan menu again as well. They did change the receipt last November and now it no longer contains milk products. Sadly, there is no guarantee that milk does not get in due to cross-contamination.
Sadly, every seasonal coffee they have might contain dairy, yet, there are some modifications that can be made to make it vegan-friendly.
The Gingerbread and Cream Latte is a milky coffee that is laced with a helping of sugar-free gingerbread syrup, with some cream and a mini gingerbread person.
I admit this is a favourite of mine, and it is orderable with milk alternatives and soy-whipped cream. I recommend soy if you also get the soy whipped cream, if not, oat milk is delicious with this!
Black Forest Hot Chocolate
Costa’s Black Forest Hot Chocolate is blended with a cherry sauce and topped with cream and shimmer curls as well as a gentle drizzle of cherry sauce.
Again, this is the same, ask for coconut, soy, or oat milk and exclude its creamy topping
Latte & Hot Chocolate Inspired By Toblerone
The Costa Classic Latte is combined with indulgent chocolate and a honey-flavoured sauce which is inspired by a Toblerone taste for this festive taste of the holiday season. In spite of the honey-flavoured sauce, it can be made vegan with milk alternatives and the removal of the cream topping.
The honey-flavoured sauce does not actually contain any honey.
Similarly, the Hot Chocolate inspired by Toblerone is made the same way. So, it is vegan and the honey-flavoured sauce does not actually contain honey, as well as this Costa Hot Chocolate is naturally vegan
Other Vegan Hot Drinks At Costa Coffee:
View this post on Instagram
If you want a non-coffee hot drink, here are some options for you that you can enjoy as a vegan!
- English Breakfast Tea (Original & Decaf both offered).
- The Earl (Earl Grey).
- Jasmine Green Tea.
- Superfluity Infusion.
- Double Mint Infusion.
- Hot Chocolate (enjoy at your own risk).
You can order these as they are, or if you want the English Breakfast Tea, enjoy it with soy or coconut milk.
However, be aware of the Hot Chocolate, as it does not contain milk, but Costa can not guarantee that no traces of dairy products get into it due to the potential of cross-contamination. You can enjoy this but do so at your own risk.
We also have to note that the Chai Latte is not vegan as Costa uses Chai powder that contains honey and milk.
Cold Iced Vegan Drinks
Costa offers 3 smoothies which are all iced and vegan. The second one is my favourite!
- Strawberry Iced Infusion smoothie.
- Mango & Passionfruit Cooler smoothie.
- Red Summer Berries Fruit Cooler smoothie.
These are all labelled as coolers, however, they are smoothies and are all vegan. If you enjoy cocktails when on a night out, try out the Mango & Passionfruit cooler! It tastes like a refreshing non-alcoholic pornstar Martini!
Perfect for a hot summer!
Food Items Which Are Vegan
View this post on Instagram
Fancy a bite? Here’s what vegan is on their food menu!
- All Day Breakfast Panini.
- Brown Seeded Toast.
- Cinnamon Raisin Toast.
- Fresh Fruit Salad.
- Natural Mixed Nuts.
- Protein Nut Mix.
- Roasted Carrot & Coriander Soup.
- Smoky Chilli Beans & Rice Pot.
- Smokey Ham & CheeZe Toastie.
- Sweet & Salty Popcorn.
- Tomato & Basil Soup.
- White Toast.
All of these options are vegan naturally, and you do not need to alter them at all. In fact, for some of these, Costa naturally uses vegan cheese and ham! Awesome!
Desserts Which Are Vegan
View this post on Instagram
Finally, for those with a sweet tooth, check out these vegan desserts available at Costa Coffee.
- Chocolate caramel & Hazelnut Cookie.
- Chocolate & Pecan Slice.
- Costa Dark Chocolate Bar.
- Gluten Free Iced Cake Slice.
- Gluten Free Vegan Fruity Flapjack.
- Jamaican Ginger Loaf.
- Rocky Road Brownie.
- Vegan Sugar-Free Gummy Bears.
- Walking Gingerbread Cookies.
In my opinion, the brownies are a bit on the dry side, I prefer a gooey brownie, but if you like them dry, go for it! However, their gingerbread cookies are perfect, as is the Jamaican Ginger Loaf!
Some of the locations added a few fresh-baked vegan desserts back in 2021, so you can now buy banana bread, vegan cakes, and gingerbread. If it is vegan it will be labelled nice and clear for you so you can tell if the location carries these items when you are placing your order!
Costa Coffee Vegan Menu
In my opinion, Costa is not half bad. Their food offers for vegans are getting better every year, and they are certainly ahead of Starbucks in the vegan game. They even stock vegan ham and cheese for their sandwiches.
Their signature coffee selection has plenty of options for us, and they have oodles of plant milk options in all their stores.
Even most of their speciality coffees can be ordered with sustainable plant-based milks. So, they get a thumbs up from me!
Are Costa Marshmallows Vegan?
Costa’s marshmallows are already vegan, as shown in their rocky road dessert which is also vegan.
Are Costa Croissants Vegan?
Costa brought out a new vegan croissant which is filled with strawberry jam. However, always double check it is vegan before you order!
Is Costa Frappe Vegan?
Costa’s Frappe is not naturally vegan, however, you can make replacements and ask for plant-based milks in order to make it vegan.
Is Costa Chai Latte Vegan?
Costa Coffee’s Chai Latte is not vegan, as the Chai syrup they use is not vegan containing milk and honey. Such a shame!