If you are gluten-free and are thinking about changing your life by switching to a vegan diet, you may be wondering if you will be able to.
Some people are vegan by choice, others for health, some people are gluten-free by choice, and others for health. However, if you already have a gluten-free diet and want to accommodate that into a vegan diet, you will need to know if you can.
Being vegan and being gluten-free are not the same thing, but in some ways, you can accommodate being gluten-free into a vegan diet.
Rather than ramble on, let me explain how this works!
Are Vegans Gluten Free?
Not all vegans are gluten-free. Gluten-free and vegan are not the same thing. While vegan diets will include all, or at least most plant-based foods, gluten-free diets focus on staying away from plant foods that have gluten in them.
Thus, a vegan diet can be gluten-free or not gluten-free.
What is the Difference Between Gluten Free And Vegan?
Vegan and gluten-free are different.
Veganism is when you avoid any products containing animals or animal by-products. This includes meat, dairy, fish, and so on. Vegans also will not eat honey either, even if it is produced ethically.
Many vegans will also have this same approach when it comes to clothing and other products.
Read More: How To Know If Something Is Vegan
What about gluten-free? Gluten-free means that you cut out gluten. Gluten has nothing to do with animal cruelty, exploitation, or even animal products really.
Most people who have a gluten-free diet do so for health reasons, for example, those with celiac disease, as celiac disease prevents you from digesting gluten.
Those who are gluten-free need to avoid: beers, ales, soy sauce, oats, cereals, pasta, bread, stuffing, breadcrumbs, pretzels, barley, couscous, bulgur wheat, malt vinegar, and so on.
Vegan Or Gluten Free Which Is Better For Health?
Gluten is a protein in specific grains. It has absolutely no connection with veganism unless a vegan decides to go gluten-free for health reasons. Both of these diets have health benefits.
Veganism and gluten-free diets are both healthy options with their own benefits. Overall, if you want to go hardcore for health a gluten-free vegan diet might be for you!
Can You Be A Vegan And Gluten Free?
It is totally possible to be vegan and gluten-free at the same time. It is not actually that hard.
What and other gluten-based foods will only make up a small section of the foods a vegan can eat. Whereas vegetables, legumes, seeds, nuts, beans, and most cereals are all gluten-free naturally.
So it is totally possible to be a gluten-free vegan!
What Vegan Food Has Gluten?
Some cereals may contain gluten and bread well. However, if a vegan ‘meat’ has ‘seitan’ in the list of ingredients, then it is a gluten-based dish. Seitan is actually pure gluten with some water, spices, and salt added to it.
So, when choosing vegan meat substitutes, look out for Seitan!
Here’s a list of more vegan food that contains gluten:
- Vegan Cake
- Vegan Cookies
- Fake Meats
- Fake Sausages
- Some Protein Powders
And the list goes on!
Does Plant-Based Mean No Gluten?
Plant-based does not mean there is no gluten. Plant-based means are vegan. While you can get foods that are both gluten-free and vegan, just being plant-based does not mean that it is gluten-free.
In fact, gluten is often found in a lot of breads, and carbohydrate-heavy foods such as pasta, which are made from plants.
So, do not assume that if something is plant-based that it is free from gluten.
What Do You Eat If You’re Vegan And Gluten Free?
A gluten-free vegan diet will typically be made up of a wide variety of nuts, fruits, seeds, legumes, vegetables, and plant-based proteins.
You can also have gluten-free grains in your diet as well such as oats, brown rice, and quinoa as well.
Being vegan and gluten-free is actually not that hard, you just get to be a little more creative with your meals, and there is little to hate about that!
Vegan Gluten-Free Recipes
I have a huge selection of gluten-free vegan recipes.
But here are some of my favorites:
Gluten-Free Vegan Butter Bean Stew
- 2 1/2 cups/500g of dried butter beans
- 1 large carrot peeled and grated
- 2 to matoes chopped
- 2 cloves of garlic minced
- 1 large white onion chopped
- 3 tbsp of olive oil
- 3 tbsp of smoked paprika
- 2 tbsp of corn-flour/starch
- 1/2 bunch of mint leaves picked and chopped
- 2 tsp salt
- To Serve:
- Chili Flakes
- Crusty Bread
- Soak the beans in water and leave them overnight or for at least 4 hours.
- Strain them, and add enough water to cover the beans.
- Simmer on medium heat for 35 minutes. They should be semi-soft/al-dente. Turn the heat to low.
- Heat the oil in a pan, and add the onions and garlic. Cook for 2 minutes, then add the paprika, cook for 1 minute then add the carrots and tomatoes. Cook for 5 minutes and add the mixture to the bean pot.
- In a bowl, add the cornflour and 5 tbsp of water and mix.
- Add the cornflour mix onto the bean pot and stir. It should thicken it, add the salt and mix. Simmer the pot for 5 minutes, then take it off the heat. Add the chopped mint leaves and serve in bowls sprinkled with chili flakes and crusty bread.
Nutritional values are based on the stew only, not the added crusty bread!
So, what more is there to know about veganism and gluten-free diets? Well, people have plenty of questions, and I am here to answer them!
Is Vegan Pizza Gluten Free?
Not every vegan pizza will be gluten-free, it really depends on how the base is made. However, you can get vegan pizza crusts that are gluten-free. The best thing to do is to double-check that the pizza crust is gluten-free and vegan when you order a pizza.
However, if you want to make one yourself, you have more options. Rice flour is a good way to go for a gluten-free vegan pizza crust!
Why Do Vegans Avoid Gluten?
Vegans actually do not avoid gluten unless they are gluten-free. Gluten comes from plants such as wheat, rye, oats, and barley. Thus, it is not an issue for vegans, and it is a plant-based substance.
However, vegans may avoid gluten if they are on a gluten-free diet. It is totally reliant on the individual and how they feel about gluten themselves.
Does Vegan Mean Dairy and Gluten Free?
Vegan does mean dairy free, but it does not mean gluten-free.
Vegans diets are dairy free because veganism focuses on eating only plant-based foods and not any animal products or by-products. This makes a vegan diet a dairy-free one.
On the other side, gluten is a substance that is found in plants such as rye, wheat, and barley, so vegans have no issue eating it. However, a vegan may avoid gluten if they are also on a gluten-free diet.
Why Is Gluten Free So Hard?
A gluten-free diet means not eating any wheat, rye, or barley and often oats too. Gluten is often included and even hidden in many very common food products it can be a very difficult substance to avoid.
Veganism and a gluten-free diet aren’t the same things. However, some people are vegan plus gluten-free. So, it’s certainly possible to be both.